Graphic Novels
  System Video
  All Features


  PlayStation 3
  PlayStation 4
  Wii U
  Xbox 360
  Xbox One


Digimon: Digital Monsters - The Official First Season Volume 2

Score: 88%
Rating: Not Rated
Publisher: Flatiron Film Company
Region: 1
Media: DVD/3
Running Time: 7 Hrs.
Genre: Anime/Family/TV Series
Audio: English Dolby Digital Stereo

Digimon: Digital Monsters - The Official First Season Volume 2 covers the last 27 episodes of the original Digimon series.

In Volume 1, the original seven DigiDestined were brought into the Digital World where they were introduced to not only a world of strange creatures, but also companions that would quickly become friends. These seven kids faced several foes and challenges, but just when they thought all their troubles were over, they were contacted by one of their guides and told that one particularly strong and evil Digimon, Myotismon, is traveling to our world in order to take it over. They are also told that there is an eighth DigiDestined somewhere and if they have any hope of defeating Myotismon, they must find the missing person.

Back in the non-Digital World, the kids find that no time has actually passed and everyone thinks they are still at the summer camp, so not only do they have to explain to their parents why they are back, but they have to find some way of completing their mission without arousing suspicion.

Meanwhile, Myotismon sends out one of his servants, Gatomon, to look for the eighth kid. As the cat-like Digimon starts hunting down her prey, she meets up with an old friend, Wizardmon, and starts to remember some details about her long buried past. It seems that this search for the eighth child is something she has been doing for a long time, since before she fell in with Myotismon's gang.

Meanwhile, Mimi and Joe learn how to get their Digimon to Digivolve into their Ultimate forms. Palmon Digivolves into Lillymon and Ikkakumon becomes Zudomon. With these new powers, the DigiDestined are not only able to hold off Myotismon's forces, but they soon discover that Tai's little sister Kari is the missing kid and Gatomon is her Digimon. The kids also learn of a prophecy that is apparently the only way to stop Myotismon when he Digivolves even further. With the help of Patamon's Digivolved form of Angemon and Gatomon's Angewomon form, MetalGreymon becomes WarGremon and WereGarurumon Digivolves to MetalGarurumon. Together, the two Mega level Digimon are able to finally put a stop to Myotismon and save the world.

You would think the DigiDestined's chores would be done, but they soon find that the Digital World has come under some hard times during their visit back in our world. After all, time moves a lot faster in the Digital World, so when they return, they find that a lot has happened since Myotismon invaded the non-Digital World.

The show's last 14 episodes are the final story arch. Upon returning to the Digital World, they find that it has been drastically distorted and turned into a massive spiral mountain controlled by the Dark Masters. These four Mega-level Digimon consists of MetalSeadramon, Puppetmon, Machinedramon and Piedmon and each one controls a particular part of the Digital World. The eight kids will find their fights against these new foes to be an upward battle and while some of their new enemies might seem like pushovers at first, it isn't long before the DigiDestined realize just how powerful these four Dark Masters are.

Digimon: Digital Monsters - The Official First Season Volume 2 compliments Volume 1 nicely, but like the first volume, there aren't any special features to be had in this collection. If you haven't picked up the first volume though, then you might want to consider the full season release that contains a book about the different characters as well as a gallery.

-J.R. Nip, GameVortex Communications
AKA Chris Meyer

Related Links:

Anime Naruto: Uncut Box Set 12

Game Vortex :: PSIllustrated